Pakistan Women Emerge Victorious in Historic Series Win Against New Zealand:

Pakistan Women Emerge Victorious in Historic Series Win Against New Zealand:

News bySana Ullah

In a remarkable display of cricketing prowess, the Pakistan women’s national team has etched their names in history by securing an unassailable lead in the three-match T20I series against New Zealand. Their triumphant victory in the second T20I, held at the University of Otago Oval in Dunedin, marks a significant milestone for Pakistani women’s cricket.

This victory is not only Pakistan’s second-ever win against New Zealand, but also the first-ever series win for an Asian side against the formidable White Ferns in a T20I series. The team’s success is a testament to their unwavering determination, strategic brilliance, and exceptional sporting spirit.

Batting first, Pakistan set a challenging target of 137 runs for six wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Muneeba Ali, with her aggressive 35 runs off 28 balls, laid a solid foundation for the team’s total. Aliya Riaz, the player of the match, chipped in with an unbeaten 32 runs off 22 balls, showcasing her composure and finishing skills.

New Zealand’s bowling attack, spearheaded by Molly Penfold and Fran Jonas, who each claimed two wickets, put up a valiant effort. However, Pakistan’s bowlers, led by the indomitable Fatima Sana, proved too formidable. Sana’s exceptional spell of three wickets for 22 runs, including the prized scalps of Sophie Devine and Suzie Bates, effectively stifled New Zealand’s chase.

Pakistan’s captain, Nida Dar, further cemented her legacy as one of the greatest T20I bowlers by becoming the joint-leading wicket-taker alongside Australia’s Megan Schutt with 130 scalps in the format. Left-arm spinner Sadia Iqbal also contributed with two wickets for 29 runs in her four overs.

Series schedule:
3 Dec – 1st T20I, Dunedin (Pakistan women beat New Zealand women by seven wickets)
5 Dec – 2nd T20I, Dunedin (Pakistan women beat New Zealand women by 10 runs)
9 Dec – 3rd T20I, Queenstown (1pm local time)
12 Dec – 1st ODI, Queenstown (11am local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)
15 Dec – 2nd ODI, Christchurch (2pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)
18 Dec – 3rd ODI, Christchurch (2pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

This historic victory marks a turning point for Pakistan women’s cricket, showcasing their ability to compete with the world’s best teams. Their upcoming match in Queenstown on Saturday, December 9, will be an opportunity to further solidify their dominance and continue their winning streak.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *