Afghanistan Beat Pakistan in Historic World Cup 2023 Victory

Afghanistan Beat Pakistan in Historic World Cup 2023 Victory

Afghanistan’s victory over Pakistan was a masterclass in batting and bowling. The Afghan batsmen were patient and disciplined in their approach, and they made the most of the opportunities that came their way. Gurbaz and Shah were particularly impressive, and they both struck half-centuries.

Afghanistan beat Pakistan by 8 wickets in a thrilling World Cup match on Tuesday, October 24, 2023. It was Afghanistan’s first-ever win over Pakistan in ODIs at the eighth attempt, and it is a sign that they are a team to be reckoned with in this World Cup.

The Afghan bowlers were also on top of their game. Noor Ahmad was the pick of the bowlers, but the entire bowling attack bowled tightly and kept Pakistan under pressure.

Pakistan’s batsmen struggled to get going against the Afghan bowlers. Babar Azam was the only batsman who looked comfortable, but he was eventually dismissed for 74.

Afghanistan chased down a target of 283 with 6 balls to spare, their highest successful chase in the format. Teenager Noor Ahmad was the pick of the Afghanistan bowlers, taking 3-49.

Ibrahim Zadran made 87, Rahmanullah Gurbaz smashed 65 and Rahmat Shah struck an unbeaten 77 to help Afghanistan reach their target.

Afghanistan are now up to sixth in the table, while England are bottom.

This is a great win for Afghanistan, and it will be a big boost to their confidence going into the rest of the tournament. It is also a sign that the team is progressing and improving, and that they are capable of competing at the highest level.

Runs scored by Pakistan batters are as follows:

  • Abdullah Shafique: 58 (77)
  • Imam-ul-Haq: 172 (244)
  • Babar Azam: 74 (92)
  • Mohammad Rizwan: 81 (180)
  • Saud Shakeel: 25 (34)
  • Shadab Khan: 40 (38)
  • Iftikhar Ahmed: 40 (27)

Pakistan XI

Babar Azam (c)
Mohammad Rizwan (wk)

Abdullah Shafique


Saud Shakeel

Shadab Khan

Iftikhar Ahmed

Usama Mir

Hasan Ali

Shaheen Shah Afridi

Haris Rauf

Afghanistan XI

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)

Ikram Alikhil (wk)
Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Ibrahim Zadran

Rahmat Shah

Azmatullah Omarzai

Mohammad Nabi

Rashid Khan

Mujeeb Ur Rahman


Fazalhaq Farooqi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *