20 Teams Finalized for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

20 Teams Finalized for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024:

News by Sana Ullah

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is set to witness an exciting expansion as 20 teams have been confirmed for the upcoming tournament, scheduled to be held in the USA and West Indies. Uganda’s thrilling victory over Rwanda marked their place in the global event, making it their maiden appearance in a senior ICC World Cup.

Uganda’s Path to Glory

Uganda’s journey to the T20 World Cup was paved with resilience and determination. They commenced their qualifying campaign with impressive wins against Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, and Kenya, before facing a setback against Namibia, the undefeated qualifiers from Africa.

Uganda’s Dominant Performance

In their crucial match against Rwanda, Uganda demonstrated their dominance, bowling out their opponents for a mere 65 runs in 18.5 overs. Alpesh Ramjani, Brian Masaba, Henry Ssenyondo, and Dinesh Nakrani each claimed two wickets, dismantling Rwanda’s batting order.

Chasing Down the Target

In response, Uganda effortlessly chased down the target of 66 runs, reaching the required score in just 8.1 overs with 71 balls remaining. Simon Ssesazi, Ronak Patel, and Roger Mukasa played crucial innings, contributing 26, 18, and 13 runs respectively.

Tournament Format

The expanded 20-team format for the T20 World Cup 2024 promises exciting matchups and fierce competition. The teams will be divided into four groups of five, with the top two teams from each group advancing to a Super Eight phase. This will be followed by the semi-finals and the grand finale.


Uganda’s qualification marks a significant milestone in their cricketing history. Their inclusion in the T20 World Cup will undoubtedly boost the sport’s popularity in the country and inspire a new generation of cricketers. The expanded format and the inclusion of new teams are set to make the T20 World Cup 2024 a truly global spectacle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *