Mohammad Amir Reflects on Pakistan Return

Mohammad Amir Reflects on Pakistan Return

News by “Sana Ullah”

Pakistan’s southpaw speedster, Mohammad Amir, has shared his thoughts on being named in Pakistan’s squad for the upcoming five-match home T20I series against New Zealand.

Taking to X, previously known as Twitter, Amir penned, “Bismillah Hir-Rahman-Nir-Raheem” (In the name of Allah, most gracious, most merciful). Amir, who reversed his retirement from international cricket in March, reaffirmed his commitment to represent Pakistan in the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, slated to commence from June 2 in the USA and the West Indies.

“I still dream to play for Pakistan! life brings us to the points where at times we have to reconsider our decisions,” expressed Amir.

“There has been few positive discussions between myself and the PCB where they respectfully made me feel that I was needed and can still play for Pakistan after discussing with family and well-wishers I declare that I am available to be considered for the upcoming t20WC.

“I want do this for my country as it comes before my personal decisions. Donning the green jersey and serving my country has always been, and will continue to be, my greatest aspirations.” Mohammad Amir’s surprising retirement announcement from international cricket came in 2020 at the age of 28, citing differences with the then-team management.

Despite his retirement, speculation about his return persisted, fueled by his stellar performances in league cricket.

During the recently concluded Pakistan Super League (PSL) season nine, Amir impressed with ten wickets in nine matches for Quetta Gladiators.

With 50 T20I appearances for Pakistan, Amir has scalped 59 wickets at an average of 21.40.

Pakistan Squad for T20I Series Against New Zealand Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan, Usama Mir

Non-travelling reserve: Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah Khan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Ali, Salman Ali Agha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *