Historic Triumph: India Secures Maiden Test Victory Against Australia Women at Wankhede:

Historic Triumph: India Secures Maiden Test Victory Against Australia Women at Wankhede:

News by Sana Ullah

In a groundbreaking achievement, India clinched an eight-wicket victory against Australia at the Wankhede, marking their first-ever Test win over the Australian women’s cricket team.

Before this landmark Test, India had faced Australia in 10 matches, resulting in four losses and six draws for the Women in Blue. However, on December 24, the tables turned as they secured their historic Test success against Alyssa Healy’s side.

On the opening day, Healy’s decision to bat first faced challenges from the pacers and spinners, with Pooja Vastrakar (4/53), Sneh Rana (3/56), and Deepti Sharma (2/45) dismantling the Australian lineup for 219.

India’s response was robust, fueled by positive performances from Smriti Mandhana (74) and Shafali Varma (40). The middle-order contributions of Richa Ghosh (52) and Jemimah Rodrigues (73) further strengthened India’s position. However, it was the impressive 122-run partnership between Deepti (78) and Vastrakar (47) that solidified the hosts’ control with a commanding 187-run lead.

Australia fought back on day three, with Beth Mooney (33), Ellyse Perry (45), and Tahlia McGrath (73) showing resilience. Nonetheless, India’s captain, Harmanpreet Kaur, intervened and claimed two crucial wickets, and spinners Sneh Rana (4/63) and Rajeshwari Gayakwad (2/42) completed the job on the final day, bowling Australia out for 261. India then faced a target of 75.

Despite an initial wobble, India successfully chased down the target with eight wickets in hand. Mandhana’s unbeaten 38 proved pivotal in sealing the historic victory.

This triumph marked India’s second consecutive Test win, following their record-breaking 347-run victory against England at the DY Patil Stadium earlier in December.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *