PCB Chairman Conducts Pre-Series Meeting with Babar Azam Ahead of New Zealand T20Is

PCB Chairman Conducts Pre-Series Meeting with Babar Azam Ahead of New Zealand T20Is

News by “Sana Ullah”

RAWALPINDI: The upcoming T20I series between Pakistan and New Zealand has stirred anticipation as Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Mohsin Naqvi convened a high-level discussion with national men’s cricket team skipper Babar Azam.

The meeting, which took place in Rawalpindi, saw the participation of national selector Wahab Riaz and head coach Azhar Mahmood, signifying the strategic importance placed on the series.

Mohsin Naqvi, using X (formerly Twitter), confirmed the meeting, sharing insights with the public by posting a picture with the “national team officials”.

“Discussion with national team officials about the upcoming Pak vs NZ series,” Naqvi stated, shedding light on the agenda while keeping specifics undisclosed.

For those unfamiliar with the schedule, the five-match T20I series will kick off on April 18 at Pindi Cricket Stadium. However, concerns arise regarding weather conditions, particularly in Islamabad and Rawalpindi, where heavy rain is forecasted throughout the week.

On April 18, the day of the first T20I, there is a 60% chance of daytime rain and an 80% likelihood at night. The probability climbs to 84% on April 20 before dropping significantly to 20% on April 21.

Subsequently, both teams will move to Lahore for the remaining fixtures on April 25 and 27 at the historic Gaddafi Stadium.

Here are the squads for the series:

Pakistan Squad:

  • Babar Azam (c)
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  • Saim Ayub
  • Usman Khan
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Azam Khan (wk)
  • Imad Wasim
  • Shadab Khan
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Naseem Shah
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Abrar Ahmed
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Irfan Khan Niazi
  • Usama Mir
  • Zaman Khan


  • Haseebullah
  • Mohammad Ali
  • Agha Salman
  • Sahibzada Farhan
  • Mohammad Wasim Jr.

New Zealand Squad:

  • Michael Bracewell (c)
  • Mark Chapman
  • Josh Clarkson
  • Jacob Duffy
  • Dean Foxcroft
  • Ben Lister
  • Cole McConchie
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Will O’Rourke
  • Tim Robinson
  • Ben Sears
  • Tim Seifert (WK)
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tom Blundell
  • Zak Foulkes.

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I Series Schedule:

  • April 18 — 1st T20I, Rawalpindi
  • April 20 — 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi
  • April 21 — 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi
  • April 25 — 4th T20I, Lahore
  • April 27 — 5th T20I, Lahore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *