National Women’s T20 Tournament 2023-24: Lahore and Karachi Co-Champions

News by Sana Ullah

Lahore and Karachi clinched joint victory in the National Women’s T20 Tournament 2023-24 as rain washed out the final match, dividing the PKR 1.5 million prize money between the two teams.

Lahore dominated the league stage, topping the points table with a flawless 10-game winning streak. Meanwhile, Karachi secured their spot in the final by narrowly besting Rawalpindi with a superior Net Run Rate (NRR).

The tournament’s Players of the Tournament title was jointly awarded to Rawalpindi’s Aliya Riaz and Multan’s Gull Feroza. Both players earned five Player of the Match awards, the most in the tournament.

Aliya Riaz, Rawalpindi’s captain, claimed the third-highest run total in the tournament with 370 runs in 10 games, accompanied by 10 wickets. Gull Feroza of Multan secured the second-highest run tally, accumulating 479 runs in addition to five dismissals behind the stumps.

Lahore’s Sidra Amin earned the title of Best Batter for her remarkable performance, amassing 494 runs across 10 matches, including a century and three half-centuries. Lahore’s leg-spinner Ghulam Fatima emerged as the tournament’s most successful bowler, claiming 21 wickets with an average of 8.24 and an economy rate of 4.44.

Sidra Nawaz, also from Lahore, was honored as the Best Wicketkeeper of the tournament, recording 15 dismissals, including six catches and nine stumpings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *