ICC Awards 2023: First Batch of Nominees Unveiled for T20I and Emerging Categories:

News by Sana Ullah

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the initial shortlists for the ICC Awards 2023, featuring standout performers in the Men’s and Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year Awards and the Emerging Men’s and Women’s Cricketer of the Year Awards.

A diverse array of talent is represented across eight nations in the T20I categories, with last year’s winner Suryakumar Yadav contending again in the men’s category, while Ellyse Perry, a former two-time winner of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, is among the female prospects.

In the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year category, Suryakumar Yadav competes with Mark Chapman, Alpesh Ramjani, and Sikandar Raza. The Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year shortlist includes Chamari Athapaththu, Sophie Ecclestone, Hayley Matthews, and Ellyse Perry.

The Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year category highlights rising talents Marufa Akter, Lauren Bell, Darcey Carter, and Phoebe Litchfield, who showcased exceptional form in 2023.

The ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year features a competitive field with Gerald Coetzee, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Dilshan Madushanka, and Rachin Ravindra—all prodigies from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

Fans can vote for their favorite T20I and Emerging players on www.icc-cricket.com, with more categories being unlocked as additional nominees are disclosed over the next two days.

Shortlists in nine ICC Awards 2023 categories are revealed between January 3 and 5, determined by a panel of cricket writers and broadcasters. Fan voting results will be combined with selections from the ICC Voting Academy to determine the winners.

The ICC Awards 2023 encompass 13 prizes, including the ICC Men’s and Women’s Associate Cricketers of the Year, the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, and the ICC Umpire of the Year. Five ICC Teams of the Year will also be decided by the ICC Voting Academy, acknowledging outstanding XIs in men’s and women’s international cricket in 2023.

Winners of the ICC Awards 2023 will be announced later in January 2024.

ICC Awards 2023 – Shortlists Revealed:

  1. ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Mark Chapman (New Zealand), Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Suryakumar Yadav (India)
  2. ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  3. ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka), Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)
  4. ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marufa Akter (Bangladesh), Lauren Bell (England), Darcey Carter (Scotland), Phoebe Litchfield (Australia)

5 thoughts on “ICC Awards 2023: First Batch of Nominees Unveiled for T20I and Emerging Categories:

  1. Howdy I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome b.

  2. Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and brilliant design.

  3. It’s truly a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *