New Zealand victory over Pakistan to secure series lead

New Zealand victory over Pakistan to secure series lead

News by “Sana Ullah”

LAHORE: Tim Robinson notched up a half-century followed by William O’Rourke’s outstanding bowling display, propelling New Zealand to a narrow four-run victory over Pakistan in the fourth T20I at Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday.

With this win, the visiting team has now taken an insurmountable 2-1 lead in the five-match series.

In pursuit of 179, Pakistan faced an early setback, losing three wickets within the power play with only 48 runs on the scoreboard.

Fakhar Zaman spearheaded Pakistan’s recovery with crucial partnerships alongside Shadab Khan (7) and Iftikhar Ahmed (23).

The southpaw emerged as the top-scorer for Pakistan with a resilient 61 off 45 deliveries, embellished with seven boundaries, including three sixes.

Despite Zaman’s valiant efforts, Pakistan fell short as they managed only 174/8 in 20 overs, needing 18 off the final over but mustering only 13.

O’Rourke led New Zealand’s bowling attack with three wickets, while Ben Sears contributed with figures of 2-27.

Initially, Pakistan skipper Babar Azam opted to field first, but the decision backfired as New Zealand amassed 56 runs in the initial five overs.

Zaman Khan provided the breakthrough, dismissing Tom Blundell, who had compiled a brisk 28 off 15 deliveries, featuring five boundaries.

Tim Robinson continued his aggressive approach, registering his maiden half-century before Shahid Afridi intervened to stem the flow of runs for Pakistan.

Robinson top-scored for New Zealand with 51 runs off 36 balls, comprising four boundaries and two sixes.

The Pakistan bowlers maintained pressure, consistently picking up wickets at crucial junctures.

Dean Foxcroft contributed 34 off 26 deliveries, while captain Michael Bracewell provided a quickfire 27 to propel New Zealand’s total to 178/7 in their allotted 20 overs.

Shahid Afridi excelled with the ball for Pakistan, claiming figures of 3-20, while Mohammad Amir, Zaman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Usama Mir chipped in with one wicket each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *