Fortune Barishal Clinch Maiden BPL Title with Win Over Comilla Victorians:

Fortune Barishal Clinch Maiden BPL Title with Win Over Comilla Victorians:

News by “Sana Ullah”

In a thrilling encounter at Mirpur, Fortune Barishal secured their inaugural Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) title by defeating Comilla Victorians by six wickets, propelled by a stellar bowling performance and Kyle Mayers’ crucial 46 in the run chase.

Opting to bat first, Comilla Victorians managed to post 154/6 on the scoreboard, despite a late flourish from Andre Russell.

The Victorians encountered a shaky start, losing three wickets within the batting powerplay, but a partnership between Mahidul Islam Ankon and Johnson Charles steadied their innings momentarily.

However, wickets continued to fall at regular intervals, with Ankon top-scoring with a brisk 38.

Russell’s explosive cameo added impetus to the innings, but James Fuller and the Fortune Barishal bowlers kept the scoring in check, with Fuller leading the attack with figures of 2/43.

Chasing 155 for victory, Fortune Barishal commenced their innings confidently, with openers Tamim Iqbal and Mehidy Hasan Miraz providing a solid platform with a 76-run partnership.

Despite losing both openers in quick succession, Mayers took charge of the chase, forging a crucial partnership with Mushfiqur Rahim.

Mayers’ aggressive 46, accompanied by Rahim’s valuable contribution, propelled Fortune Barishal closer to the target.

A composed effort from Mahmuduallah and David Miller guided Fortune Barishal across the finish line, securing their maiden BPL title.

Moeen Ali and Mustafizur Rahman were among the wickets for the Victorians, but they couldn’t prevent Fortune Barishal from clinching the championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *