Uganda Unveils Squad for Inaugural T20 World Cup Campaign

Uganda Unveils Squad for Inaugural T20 World Cup Campaign

News by “M.Akash”

Uganda has revealed its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, set to be co-hosted in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

For the first time, the African nation secures a spot in the prestigious tournament, joining 20 teams in the competition commencing from June 1.

Brian Masaba will lead Uganda in their historic T20 World Cup debut, starting with a clash against Afghanistan on June 3 in Guyana.

In addition, Pakistani-born all-rounder Riazat Ali Shah assumes the role of vice-captain. Notably, the squad boasts the presence of 43-year-old all-rounder Frank Nsubuga, making him the eldest participant in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Nsubuga’s journey in ICC events began at the age of 17 during the 1997 ICC Trophy, a significant milestone in Uganda’s cricketing history.

Uganda finds itself in Group C alongside co-hosts West Indies, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and Papua New Guinea.

Uganda’s T20 World Cup Squad:

  • Brian Masaba (c)
  • Simon Ssesazi
  • Roger Mukasa
  • Cosmas Kyewuta
  • Dinesh Nakrani
  • Fred Achelam
  • Kenneth Waiswa
  • Alpesh Ramjani
  • Frank Nsubuga
  • Henry Ssenyondo
  • Bilal Hassun
  • Robinson Obuya
  • Riazat Ali Shah (vc)
  • Juma Miyaji
  • Ronak Patel

Travelling Reserves:

  • Innocent Mwebaze
  • Ronald Lutaaya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *