South Africa Unveils Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

South Africa Unveils Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Cricket South Africa (CSA) revealed their 15-member squad for the imminent ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, slated to take place from June 2 to 29 in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

Leading South Africa in the T20 World Cup will be Aiden Markram, marking his debut as captain in an ICC event since his appointment last year.

Star fast bowler Anrich Nortje is back in the squad, poised to make his international return during the tournament following a nine-month hiatus due to injury.

In a notable inclusion, uncapped opening batter Ryan Rickelton and seamer Ottniel Baartman have earned their maiden call-ups, propelled by their outstanding performances during SA20.

Rickelton concluded the tournament as the top run-scorer with an impressive tally of 530 runs at an average of 58.88 and a remarkable strike rate of 173.77.

Conversely, Baartman emerged as the second-highest wicket-taker in SA20 with 18 dismissals at an average of 11.77.

Wicket-keeper batter Quinton de Kock makes a return to the squad after being omitted from CSA’s central contract recently.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will commence on June 2 with co-hosts USA facing neighboring country Canada.

South Africa will kick off their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Sri Lanka on June 3 in New York.

South Africa’s T20 World Cup 2024 Line-Up

Aiden Markram (c)

Ottniel Baartman,

Gerald Coetzee

Quinton de Kock

Bjorn Fortuin

Reeza Hendricks

Marco Jansen

Heinrich Klaasen

Keshav Maharaj

David Miller

Anrich Nortj

Kagiso Rabada

Ryan Rickelton

Tabraiz Shamsi

Tristan Stubbs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *