Pakistan Prepares for T20 World Cup with Ireland Series

Pakistan Prepares for T20 World Cup with Ireland Series

News by “Sana Ullah”

DUBLIN: Pakistan’s men’s cricket team is gearing up for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024, starting with a three-match series against Ireland on May 10.

This series marks the first occasion Ireland will host Pakistan for a T20I series.

The two teams previously clashed only once in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2009, where Pakistan emerged victorious by 39 runs. Kamran Akmal’s stellar performance earned him the player of the match award for his 51-ball 57 and two stumpings.

It’s worth noting that Pakistan and Ireland are in Group A for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 and will meet in Florida on June 16.

In addition to these two teams, India, the United States of America (USA), and Canada are also in the same group, with the top two teams advancing to the next stage.

The T20Is against Ireland will be held at Castle Avenue on May 10, 12, and 14, respectively. The team will then head to Headingley, Leeds, for a four-match T20I series against England.

Pakistan head coach Azhar Mahmood emphasized that the team’s preparations for the mega event began with a five-match home series against New Zealand. However, their tour of Europe will add the final touches to those preparations.

“Our preparations for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 started with the home series against New Zealand, and now it’s all about putting the final touches on those preparations.

“We have clarity on our game plans, strategies, and combinations. It’s about bringing everything together before we arrive in the United States.

“We’ve only played Ireland once, so they will be a relatively new opponent for us. However, any team in T20 cricket can be dangerous, as the match can swing in one over.

“The three T20Is will provide us with good information about their players and how they approach T20 cricket.”

It’s worth noting that Pakistan’s left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir will miss the T20I series opener against Ireland due to delays in the issuance of his visa and is expected to join the side on Friday.

Pakistan Squad: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir (unavailable for the first T20I), Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Khan.

Ireland Squad: Paul Stirling (c), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *