India Unveils Squad for Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

India Unveils Squad for Men's T20 World Cup 2024

The Indian cricket board has revealed the 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Taking charge of India’s campaign will be Rohit Sharma, leading the charge for elusive glory as BCCI announces the team composition for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Before the official announcement, speculations were rife regarding the wicketkeeper role, with several contenders in contention. Ultimately, India has placed their faith in Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson to don the gloves.

Pant’s return to the international scene marks a significant moment, following a harrowing accident in December 2022 that sidelined him for over a year. Shivan Dube’s exceptional IPL performance made his inclusion inevitable, maintaining his spot in the squad after impressing in the recent T20I series against Afghanistan. Dube’s scintillating form for the Chennai Super Kings, amassing 350 runs in nine matches at a striking rate of 172.41, sealed his position.

India has chosen a spin-heavy bowling unit comprising Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal, while Jasprit Bumrah will spearhead the pace attack, supported by Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj, with vice-captain Hardik Pandya offering additional firepower.

The selection of batters holds no surprises, with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav expected to fortify the top order alongside skipper Rohit.

Reserve players include Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, along with pacers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.

Notably absent from India’s lineup is KL Rahul, who featured in the last two T20 World Cup campaigns (2021 and 2022).

India Squad:

  • Rohit Sharma (c)
  • Hardik Pandya (vc)
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Virat Kohli
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Rishabh Pant (wk)
  • Sanju Samson (wk)
  • Shivam Dube
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Axar Patel
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohd. Siraj


  • Shubman Gill
  • Rinku Singh
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • Avesh Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *