England Unveils Squad for T20 World Cup

England Unveils Squad for T20 World Cup

Champions of the 2022 edition, England, announced their roster for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on Tuesday, April 30.

Jofra Archer has secured his place in England’s lineup for the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, marking his comeback to international cricket after more than a year.

His last outing for England dates back to March 2023, and since then, he has been on the path to recovery from an elbow injury that kept him out for over 12 months.

The journey back hasn’t been smooth for Archer – since 2021, he has faced numerous hurdles, including stress fractures, persistent elbow issues, and even surgery stemming from an unusual fish tank accident.

Despite his recent absence from the England squad, seasoned all-rounder Chris Jordan has also earned his spot in the lineup, his last international appearance being in September 2023.

Among the batsmen, Jos Buttler will lead the defending champions, with Will Jacks, Phil Salt, and Jonny Bairstow vying for top-order positions. Ben Duckett will bring some left-handed variety to the squad along with veteran all-rounder Moeen Ali.

Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, and Sam Curran will bolster the lower order, while Adil Rashid will spearhead the spin attack supported by Tom Hartley.

England’s squad:

Jos Buttler (c)

Moeen Ali

Jofra Archer

Jonathan Bairstow

Harry Brook

Sam Curran

Ben Duckett

Tom Hartley

Will Jacks

Chris Jordan

Liam Livingstone

Adil Rashid

Phil Salt

Reece Topley

Mark Wood

The same squad has been chosen for the four-match T20I series against Pakistan, starting on 22 May. All players currently participating in the Indian Premier League will return in time for the T20I series against Babar Azam’s team.

All teams have until 25 May to make adjustments to their squad, after which any changes will require approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

England will travel to the Caribbean on 31 May ahead of their opening match against Scotland in Barbados on 4 June. They are placed in Group B in the T20 World Cup alongside Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *