Basit Ali Reveals Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 Squad Without Mohammad Amir

Basit Ali Reveals Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 Squad Without Mohammad Amir

News by “Sana Ullah”

In his selections for the T20 World Cup 2024, former Pakistan cricketer Basit Ali has made some notable exclusions, with Mohammad Amir notably absent from his squad. Instead, Basit has opted for a blend of seasoned campaigners and emerging talents, focusing on bolstering Pakistan’s bowling and all-round capabilities.

At the helm of the squad is Babar Azam, who will lead the team with his outstanding batting prowess and leadership acumen. Mohammad Rizwan, a dependable wicketkeeper-batsman, is anticipated to play a crucial role at the top of the order.

Basit’s squad includes promising youngsters like Saim Ayub and Irfan Niazi, who have impressed in recent outings. Adding experience and power to the batting lineup is Fakhar Zaman. For explosive hitting options in the middle order, Basit suggests the inclusion of either Azam Khan or Usman Khan. Shadab Khan, a pivotal all-rounder, bolsters the squad with his leg-spin bowling and late-order hitting prowess.

In the spin department, Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, and Abrar Ahmed provide variety and control during the middle overs. The pace battery comprises Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, and a choice between Abbas Afridi or Aamer Jamal, offering a balanced mix of swing and pace options.

Interestingly, Basit has left out Mohammad Amir from his 15-member squad. Despite Amir’s wealth of experience and recent performances in the T20I series against New Zealand, where he claimed three wickets in three innings, Basit has decided against his inclusion. However, Basit acknowledges Amir’s experience and suggests that the selection committee could reconsider him if Haris Rauf is unavailable.

“Amir has a lot of experience, but I haven’t included him in my squad. If Haris Rauf is unfit, then the selection committee could turn to Amir,” Basit stated.

Basit Ali’s Pakistan T20 World Cup squad:

Babar Azam (c)

Mohammad Rizwan

Saim Ayub

Fakhar Zaman

Iftikhar Ahmed

Azam Khan/Usman Khan

Irfan Niazi

Shadab Khan

Imad Wasim

Abbas Afridi/Aamer Jamal

Shaheen Afridi

Naseem Shah

Haris Rau,

Usama Mir

Abrar Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *